Who is Meg?

First of all, I’d like to say hello, and welcome to my blog! I’m absolutely new to this whole blogging thing, and I’m excited to see how it goes! I figured it would be a good idea for my first post to be an introduction of myself, and an explanation of why and for what purpose I created this blog. So, here goes nothing!

My name is Megan Grace Horjus, I am 21 years old, and I was born and raised in Kalamazoo, Michigan. I grew up working in our family owned bakery: Boonzaaijer Bakery. The bakery has played a huge role in developing my character and who I am as a person. I owe my love for food, work ethic, customer service skills, cake decorating and pastry skills to my life in the bakery. Working in the bakery helped me realize that food was something I wanted to turn into my career, and I made the decision to go to culinary school. I graduated from the Culinary Institute of Michigan this past December with a degree in Culinary Arts. I am passionate about all things food, and I feel very blessed to have the opportunity to build a career doing something I am so in love with! I love cooking for people (I always say cooking is my love language), and I also am passionate about learning about the origins and reasoning behind food. This ties into my love for travel, history, and culture. This means probably a lot of my posts will be somehow and someway related to food.

A few other things I’m passionate about are: scuba diving, running, health and fitness, traveling, pictures, family, the ocean, sustainable practices, music, and other things. There are a lot of things I am excited about, because I am excited about life! These topics are probably going to be showing up in my posts as well.

I decided to start a blog for a few reasons. First, I will be living in Italy for a little over three months on a culinary internship (leaving in 19 days!!!), and I wanted a good way to keep my family and friends updated on what I am experiencing while I am there. I also like the thought of having this blog as a sort of journal that I can read back on and remember my experiences. Lastly, I think a blog will be a great way to share things related to my career, such as recipes, techniques, culinary topics, pictures, and so on.

The title of my blog, Hungry Girl, means a few things.

I am hungry for food. But not just to eat food, but to learn food. Culinary is my passion, and I long to learn constantly about new ingredients, new techniques and methods, and ways of treating food. It is hugely important to me, and this journey is a life long one. I love my career, and I want to be great chef someday. This is not going to happen unless I am continually learning and growing. It is hard to explain this feeling unless you also have the desire. I plan to become great someday, and the only way this is going to happen is if I stay hungry.

I am hungry for adventure! You will not learn and grow unless you go out of your comfort zone and try new things. There’s a lot of world out there, and so much to experience, I believe it is a waste NOT to go out and see some of it. As much of it as you can. I intend to do just that!

 

This concludes my first blog post! I hope you’ll follow me as I begin some big adventures, and keep seeking out small ones each day as well.

Ciao!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

